The Mother and Child Centre in Bogale

The mother-child centre of Artemed Stiftung is unique in Myanmar

The Mother and Child Centre in Bogale

46 out of 1000 children die in the first years of life in Myanmar

The Mother and Child Centre in Bogale

The majority of women in Myanmar have no access to prenatal care

About the project

Underline_grey

In the future, we will offer prenatal care, postpartum care, medical examinations of children up to the age of one and health education in our mother-child centre - in close coordination and cooperation with the state hospital in Bogale. Several midwives, a gynaecologist and a paediatrician take care of the women and infants. Women can come for prenatal care 6 days a week. This includes a precise anamnesis, blood tests, an ultrasound examination if necessary and recommendations on nutrition, hygiene and behaviour during pregnancy. Women with postpartum symptoms are also treated. In addition, children in their first year of life can receive three preventive check-ups. The programme is supplemented by information events on health topics as well as further training for medical staff.

With the Mother and Child Centre, we can save the lives of thousands of women and children every year with simple means.

Pregnancy care according to WHO

underlined_white

At least
3 visits to a medical facility for examination

At least
1 ultrasound examination

Intake of recommended and necessary micronutrients such as folic acid, iodine, magnesium and iron

The situation of mothers and children

Underline_grey
Since the beginning of our work in Myanmar we have been observing with concern the state of health of pregnant women and children. Maternal and child mortality remains high. 170 mothers out of 100,000 pregnant women die in Myanmar due to complications during pregnancy and childbirth, among children 46 die out of 1000 live births. Myanmar is thus still far from the goals of the World Health Organisation.
good-health
Reduce maternal mortality
to below 70 per 100,000 live births
Senkung der Kindersterblichkeit < 5 J auf 25 / 1000 Lebendgeburten

The main problem is that the majority of women do not have access to screening during pregnancy. On the boat of Irrawaddy River Doctors these are already well established. But in the wider area of the Irrawaddy River Doctors there was no facility geared for this. Without screening, complicated cases cannot be detected in time and sent to hospital. If the birth then starts as usual in the women's own wooden hut, it is usually no longer possible to take the women by boat to a clinic far away. There is then no rescue for mother and child.

In addition, the women are insufficiently informed about important nutritional rules or the supply of micronutrients and are therefore much more susceptible to problematic pregnancy outcomes and malformations in the children.

This is where the Mother and Child Centre comes in with its work to improve the health of women and children in the Bogale area.

News from Myanmar

underlined_white
Do you have questions about your donation?Contact us directly at Nancy Schinkel.

She will be happy to help you with any questions you may have about your donation to the Artemed Stiftung

kontakt@artemed-stiftung.de
+49 (0) 815 89077067

100% of your donation goes to our projects.
The administrative costs of Artemed Stiftung are covered by the parent company, Artemed SE.

Newsletter-Application

Always stay up to date: Register now for our free Newsletter.

Das Mutter-Kind-Zentrum in Bogale

Das Mutter-Kind-Zentrum der Artemed Stiftung ist einzigartig in Myanmar

Das Mutter-Kind-Zentrum in Bogale

46 von 1000 Kinder sterben in Myanmar in den ersten Lebensjahren

Das Mutter-Kind-Zentrum in Bogale

Der Großteil der Frauen in Myanmar hat keinen Zugang zu einer Schwangerschaftsvorsorge

Über das Projekt

Unterstrich_grau

In unserem Mutter-Kind-Zentrum bieten wir künftig – in enger Abstimmung und Kooperation mit dem staatlichen Krankenhaus in Bogale – Schwangerschaftsvorsorge, Wochenbettbetreuung, medizinische Untersuchungen von Kindern bis zum ersten Lebensjahr und Gesundheitserziehung an. Mehrere Hebammen, eine Frauen- und eine Kinderärztin kümmern sich um die Frauen und Kleinkinder. An 6 Tagen pro Woche können die Frauen zur Schwangerschaftsvorsorge kommen. Diese beinhaltet eine präzise Anamnese, Bluttests, ggf. eine Ultraschalluntersuchung und Empfehlungen zu Ernährung, Hygiene und Verhalten in der Schwangerschaft. Frauen mit Wochenbettbeschwerden werden ebenfalls behandelt. Darüber hinaus können Kinder im ersten Lebensjahr drei Vorsorgeuntersuchungen erhalten. Ergänzt wird das Programm durch Informations-veranstaltungen zu Gesundheitsthemen sowie durch Fortbildungen für medizinisches Personal.

Mit dem Mutter-Kind-Zentrum können wir tausenden Frauen und Kindern pro Jahr mit einfachen Mitteln das Leben retten.

Schwangerschaftsvorsorge laut WHO

unterstrich_weiss

Mindestens
3 Besuche in einer medizinischen Einrichtung zur Untersuchung

Mindestens
1 Ultraschalluntersuchung

Einnahme von empfohlenen und notwendigen Mikronährstoffen wie Folsäure, Jod, Magnesium und Eisen

Die Lage der Mütter und Kinder

Unterstrich_grau
Seit dem Beginn unserer Arbeit in Myanmar beobachten wir mit Sorge den Gesundheitszustand der schwangeren Frauen und Kinder. Die Mütter- und Kindersterblichkeit ist nach wie vor hoch. 170 Mütter von 100.000 Schwangeren sterben in Myanmar an den Komplikationen während der Schwangerschaft und der Geburt, bei den Kindern sterben 46 von 1000 Lebendgeburten. Myanmar ist damit noch weit entfernt von den Zielen der Weltgesundheitsorganisation.
good-health
Senkung der Müttersterblichkeit
auf unter 70 je 100.000 Lebendgeburten
Senkung der Kindersterblichkeit < 5 J auf 25 / 1000 Lebendgeburten

Das Hauptproblem ist, dass der Großteil der Frauen während der Schwangerschaft keinen Zugang zu Vorsorgeuntersuchungen hat. Auf dem Boot der Irrawaddy River Doctors sind diese bereits gut etabliert. Doch im weiteren Umfeld der Irrawaddy River Doctors gab es keine Einrichtung, die dafür ausgerichtet war. Ohne Vorsorge können komplizierte Fälle nicht rechtzeitig entdeckt und ins Krankenhaus geschickt werden. Wenn die Geburt dann wie üblich in der eigenen Holzhütte losgeht, ist es meistens nicht mehr möglich, die Frauen mit dem Boot in eine weit entfernte Klinik zu bringen. Für Mutter und Kind gibt es dann keine Rettung.

Außerdem sind die Frauen nur unzureichend über wichtige Ernährungsregeln oder die Versorgung mit Mikronährstoffen informiert und daher viel anfälliger für problematische Schwangerschaftsverläufe und Fehlbildungen bei den Kindern.

An diesen Punkten setzt das Mutter-Kind-Zentrum mit seiner Arbeit an, um die Gesundheit der Frauen und Kinder im Raum Bogale zu verbessern.

News aus Myanmar

unterstrich_weiss
Newsletter-Anmeldung

Bleiben Sie immer auf dem Laufenden: Registrieren Sie sich jetzt für unseren kostenlosen Newsletter.