About the project

Underline_grey

The medical and organisational support of the Irrawaddy River Doctorsis also in demand time and again in refugee camps in Myanmar in demand. With our medical team, we take care of the treatment of the refugees. In order to alleviate the hardship in the camps, we also pragmatically organise school desks or distribute food. 

Because Myanmar is - not only since the military coup on 1 February 2021 - a politically unstable country. The population consists of 136 different ethnic groups, some of which have been striving for independence for decades. Militias and armed groups, especially in the remote regions, fight against the Burmese military time and again. The biggest conflict is certainly the expulsion of the Rohingya Muslim minority from Rakhine State to Bangladesh, which has led to an unprecedented humanitarian crisis. But numerous other people are also repeatedly fleeing fighting in their home villages. According to the UN, there are several hundred thousand people, some of whom have to live in forests and rudimentary refugee camps.

336,000 people
are on the run

1 million people
are dependent on humanitarian aid

37% of which are children

*Source: United Nations

Furthermore, the general situation of the population has deteriorated dramatically since the military coup. Since February 2021, entire sectors of the economy, such as the textile industry, have collapsed. More and more people are unemployed and are streaming out of the cities back to their home villages in the countryside - including in Bogale township. Suddenly there are even more people to support with less money than before. For many families, it is therefore becoming increasingly difficult to buy the food for their daily needs.

News from Myanmar

underlined_white
Do you have questions about your donation?Contact us directly at Nancy Schinkel.

She will be happy to help you with any questions you may have about your donation to the Artemed Stiftung

kontakt@artemed-stiftung.de
+49 (0) 815 89077067

100% of your donation goes to our projects.
The administrative costs of Artemed Stiftung are covered by the parent company, Artemed SE.

Newsletter-Application

Always stay up to date: Register now for our free Newsletter.

Über das Projekt

unterstrich_weiss

Die medizinische und organisatorische Unterstützung der Irrawaddy River Doctors, ist auch immer wieder in Flüchtlingscamps in Myanmar gefragt. So kümmern wir uns mit unserem medizinischen Team um Behandlungen der Geflüchteten. Um die Not in den Camps zu lindern, werden auch pragmatisch Schulbänke organisiert oder Lebensmittel verteilt. 

Denn Myanmar ist – nicht erst seit dem Militärputsch am 1. Februar 2021 – ein politisch instabiles Land. Die Bevölkerung besteht aus 136 verschiedenen Ethnien, verschiedene Volksgruppen streben zum Teil schon seit Jahrzehnten nach Unabhängigkeit. Milizen und bewaffnete Gruppen, insbesondere in den entlegenen Regionen, kämpfen immer wieder gegen das burmesische Militär. Der größte Konflikt ist sicherlich die Vertreibung der muslimischen Minderheit der Rohingya aus dem Rakhine Staat nach Bangladesch, die zu einer beispiellosen humanitären Krise geführt hat. Doch auch zahlreiche weitere Menschen befinden sich immer wieder auf der Flucht vor Kämpfen in ihren Heimatdörfern. Laut UN sind es mehrere hundertausend Menschen, die zum Teil in Wäldern und rudimentären Flüchtlingscamps hausen müssen.

336.000 Personen
sind auf der Flucht

1 Million Menschen
sind auf humanitäre Hilfe angewiesen

37% davon sind Kinder

*Quelle: United Nations

Darüber hinaus hat sich die allgemeine Lage der Bevölkerung seit dem Militärputsch dramatisch verschlechtert. Seit Februar 2021 sind ganze Wirtschaftszweige, wie z.B. die Textilindustrie, zusammengebrochen. Immer mehr Menschen sind arbeitslos und strömen aus den Städten zurück in ihre Heimatdörfer auf dem Land – auch im Township Bogale. Plötzlich sind noch mehr Menschen zu versorgen mit weniger Geld als zuvor. Für viele Familien wird es daher immer schwieriger, die Lebensmittel für den täglichen Bedarf zu kaufen.

News aus Myanmar

unterstrich_weiss
Haben Sie Fragen zu Ihrer Spende?Wenden Sie sich direkt an Nancy Schinkel.

Sie hilft Ihnen gerne bei allen Fragen rund um Ihre Spende an die Artemed Stiftung

kontakt@artemed-stiftung.de
+49 (0) 815 89077067

100% Ihrer Spende kommen in unseren Projekten an.
Die Verwaltungskosten der Artemed Stiftung übernimmt der Mutterkonzern, die Artemed SE.

Newsletter-Anmeldung

Bleiben Sie immer auf dem Laufenden: Registrieren Sie sich jetzt für unseren kostenlosen Newsletter.