Irrawaddy River Doctors

8,000 children in Myanmar are protected against parasites and mosquitoes, which transmit serious diseases.

Irrawaddy River Doctors

In Myanmar there is only one doctor for 100,000 people

Irrawaddy River Doctors

1,000 pregnant women in Myanmar can be accompanied during their pregnancy every year.

Irrawaddy River Doctors

50 € costs the treatment of a family at the Irrawaddy River Doctors

About the project

Underline_grey
The Irrawaddy River Doctors are on duty with their floating GP practice on the Irrawaddy River in the south of Myanmar. Thanks to the Burmese doctors and nurses on board, medical care can be brought to the remote villages of the river delta. 16 villages in the Irrawaddy Delta are on the route of the Irrawaddy River Doctors.
Every month, up to 200 patients are treated daily. Treatment rooms, an ultrasound and ECG machine, medicines and a small laboratory are available. A dentist with a practice is also on board. In addition to treating acute cases, prevention work in the villages and schools is an important pillar of the work of Irrawaddy River Doctors.
Irrawaddy River Doctors_Ship

A Burmese team saving lives

The medical team of Irrawaddy River Doctors consists of a doctor, a dentist, three nurses, a laboratory assistant and a ship's crew of twelve. Due to the establishment of a branch of Artemed Stiftung in Myanmar , all staff members are employed by us on a long-term basis with an employment contract.

Since 2016, Thang Min Len has been managing the project in Myanmar together with his wife Su Myat Oo.

Close exchange with the M.A.T.E.s

The number of patients is constantly increasing. In order to cope with this increase, it is important to further develop medical standards and optimise work processes. Our German M.A.T.E. team takes care of this on site or through webinars. Through regular exchange and monthly reporting, both in medical and financial terms, we can guarantee transparent control of the project.

Medical Advisory Board

The medical advisory board of Artemed Stiftung is constantly taking care of defining the project strategy, planning the missions professionally and has the acquisition of important equipment and the establishment and expansion of various prevention and screening programmes on the agenda.

What we do

Underline_grey

MEDICAL EXAMINATION

  • Family practice 

  • approx. 1800 patients per month

  • Laboratory for diagnostics, ultrasound, ECG

  • Medical guidelines & medicines according to WHO standard

  • Recording of patients according to ICD classification

MOTHER-CHILD PROJECT

  • Pre-natal care

  • Preventive check-ups for babies under 1 year of age

  • Worm prophylaxis for children

  • Midwifery training

  • Prophylaxis against malaria and dengue fever

DENTAL HEALTH

  • Dental practice

  • 300 patients per month
  • Extractions

  • Tooth preservation through fillings

  • Prophylaxis

PREVENTION

  • Training of the population on hygiene, dental health, avoidance of smoking when cooking and on diseases such as high blood pressure, diabetes, etc.

Hein Hthe Te Kos History

underlined_white
mission_artemed

The little Burmese boy Hein Hthe Te Ko no longer has a mother. She died giving birth to him six months ago in their hut in the remote Irrawaddy Delta. With a preventive check-up during pregnancy, the mother's death could have been avoided in all probability. It is relatively easy to foresee complications during birth and to avoid them with a planned caesarean section in hospital.

But the reality for most women in southern Myanmar is different. Very few have the opportunity to have their pregnancy medically accompanied; there are simply no services available. Thus, the approximately 10% of all women who experience complications during childbirth are left to their fate. With the clinic ship of Irrawaddy River Doctors , Artemed Stiftung already brings prenatal care to some remote villages.

Together we are stronger

Underline_grey

Since 2016, we have been cooperating in the "Delta Docs" working group with the Swimming Doctors and the Amara Mobile Clinic, both of which are also active in the Irrawaddy Delta. In regular meetings, we exchange information on topics relevant to all three of us, such as medical standards or developments in the health care system in Myanmar .

News from Myanmar

underlined_white
Do you have questions about your donation?Contact us directly at Nancy Schinkel.

She will be happy to help you with any questions you may have about your donation to the Artemed Stiftung

kontakt@artemed-stiftung.de
+49 (0) 815 89077067

100% of your donation goes to our projects.
The administrative costs of Artemed Stiftung are covered by the parent company, Artemed SE.

Newsletter-Application

Always stay up to date: Register now for our free Newsletter.

Irrawaddy River Doctors

8.000 Kinder in Myanmar werden gegen Parasiten und Moskitos, die schwere Krankheiten übertragen, geschützt

Irrawaddy River Doctors

In Myanmar gibt es nur einen Arzt für 100.000 Menschen

Irrawaddy River Doctors

1.000 Schwangere in Myanmar können in ihrer Schwangerschaft jährlich begleitet werden.

Irrawaddy River Doctors

50 € kostet die Behandlung einer Familie bei den Irrawaddy River Doctors

Über das Projekt

unterstrich_weiss
Die Irrawaddy River Doctors sind mit ihrer schwimmenden Hausarztpraxis auf dem Irrawaddy Fluss im Süden Myanmars im Einsatz. Dank der burmesischen Ärzte, Ärztinnen und den Pflegekräften an Bord, kann medizinische Versorgung in die entlegenen Dörfer des Flussdeltas gebracht werden. 16 Dörfer im Irrawaddy Delta liegen auf der Route der Irrawaddy River Doctors.
Monat für Monat werden bis zu 200 Patient:innen täglich behandelt. Dafür stehen Behandlungsräume, ein Ultraschall- und EKG-Gerät, Medikamente sowie ein kleines Labor zur Verfügung. Auch ein Zahnarzt mit Praxis ist an Bord. Neben der Behandlung akuter Fälle, ist die Präventionsarbeit in den Dörfern und den Schulen eine wichtige Säule der Arbeit der Irrawaddy River Doctors.
Irrawaddy River Doctors_Schiff

Ein burmesisches Team, das Leben rettet

Das medizinische Team der Irrawaddy River Doctors besteht aus einer Ärztin, einem Arzt und einem Zahnarzt, drei Krankenschwestern, einer Laborantin sowie einer zwölfköpfigen Schiffscrew. Durch die Gründung einer Zweigstelle der Artemed Stiftung in Myanmar sind alle Mitarbeiter:innen mit einem Arbeitsvertrag langfristig bei uns angestellt.

Seit 2016 leitet Thang Min Len zusammen mit seiner Frau Su Myat Oo das Projekt in Myanmar.

Enger Austausch mit den M.A.T.E.s

Die Zahl der Patient:innen steigt stetig. Um dem Anstieg gerecht zu werden, ist es wichtig, dass die medizinischen Standards weiterentwickelt werden und Arbeitsabläufe optimiert werden. Darum kümmert sich unser deutsches M.A.T.E.-Team im Einsatz vor Ort oder durch Webinare. Durch den regelmäßigen Austausch und ein monatliches Reporting sowohl im medizinischen Bereich als auch in finanzieller Hinsicht können wir eine transparente Steuerung des Projektes garantieren.

Ärztliches Beratergremium

Das ärztliche Beratergremium der Artemed Stiftung kümmert sich laufend darum, die Projekt-Strategie festzulegen, die Einsätze fachgerecht zu planen und hat die Anschaffungen wichtiger Geräte und der Auf- und Ausbau verschiedener Präventions- und Vorsorgeprogramme auf der Agenda.

Was wir tun

unterstrich_weiss

MEDIZINISCHE UNTERSUCHUNG

  • Hausarztpraxis 

  • ca. 1800 Patient:innen pro Monat

  • Labor zur Diagnostik, Ultraschall, EKG

  • Medizinische Leitlinien & Medikamente nach WHO-Standard

  • Erfassung der Patient:innen nach ICD-Klassifizierung

MUTTER-KIND-PROJEKT

  • Schwangerschafts-vorsorge

  • Vorsorgeunter-suchungen für Babys unter 1 Jahr

  • Wurmprophylaxe für Kinder

  • Hebammenschulungen

  • Prophylaxe gegen Malaria und Dengue-Fieber

ZAHNGESUNDHEIT

  • Zahnarztparxis

  • 300 Patienten pro Monat
  • Extraktionen

  • Zahnerhalt durch Füllungen

  • Prophylaxe

PRÄVENTION

  • Schulungen der Bevölkerung in Fragen der Hygiene, Zahngesundheit, Rauchvermeidung beim Kochen und zu Krankheitsbildern wie Bluthochdruck, Diabetes, etc.

Hein Hthe Te Kos Geschichte

unterstrich_weiss
mission_artemed

Der kleine burmesische Junge Hein Hthe Te Ko hat keine Mutter mehr. Sie ist bei seiner Geburt vor einem halben Jahr in ihrer Hütte im entlegenen Irrawaddy Delta gestorben. Mit einer Vorsorgeuntersuchung während der Schwangerschaft wäre der Tod der Mutter mit großer Wahrscheinlichkeit vermeidbar gewesen. Relativ einfach lassen sich Komplikationen bei der Geburt vorhersehen und mit einem geplanten Kaiserschnitt im Krankenhaus umgehen.

Doch die Realität sieht für die meisten Frauen im Süden Myanmars anders aus. Die wenigsten haben die Möglichkeit, ihre Schwangerschaft medizinisch begleiten zu lassen, es gibt schlichtweg kein Angebot dafür. So werden die ca. 10% aller Frauen, bei denen während der Geburt Komplikationen auftreten, ihrem Schicksal überlassen. Mit dem Klinikschiff der Irrawaddy River Doctors bringt die Artemed Stiftung bereits eine Schwangerschaftsvorsorge in einige entlegene Dörfer.

Gemeinsam sind wir stärker

unterstrich_weiss

Seit 2016 kooperieren wir in der Arbeitsgemeinschaft „Delta Docs“ mit den beiden ebenfalls im Irrawaddy Delta engagierten Ärzteschiffen den Swimming Doctors sowie der Amara Mobile Clinic. In regelmäßigen Treffen tauschen wir uns zu für uns alle drei relevante Themen wie dem medizinischen Standard oder Entwicklungen im Gesundheitswesen in Myanmar aus.

News aus Myanmar

unterstrich_weiss
Haben Sie Fragen zu Ihrer Spende?Wenden Sie sich direkt an Nancy Schinkel.

Sie hilft Ihnen gerne bei allen Fragen rund um Ihre Spende an die Artemed Stiftung

kontakt@artemed-stiftung.de
+49 (0) 815 89077067

100% Ihrer Spende kommen in unseren Projekten an.
Die Verwaltungskosten der Artemed Stiftung übernimmt der Mutterkonzern, die Artemed SE.

Newsletter-Anmeldung

Bleiben Sie immer auf dem Laufenden: Registrieren Sie sich jetzt für unseren kostenlosen Newsletter.

buy ivermectin online australia kamagra oral jelly next day