Street Doctors

Thousands of children live on the streets in La Paz.

Street Doctors

Bolivia is one of the poorest countries in South America.

Street Doctors

300 children are treated by the Street Doctors every day.

Street Doctors

30 euros provide health care for one child for one year.

About the project

Underline_grey

Thousands of children fight for survival on the streets of Bolivia's capital La Paz every day. They are often defenceless against hunger and abuse - and when illnesses come along, they have no chance without a caregiver and medical attention.

In three mobile children's surgeries, the Street Doctors in three teams, consisting of doctors, dentists and paramedics, look after the physical and psychological well-being of helpless children free of charge. They are there for them, listen, give a hug and help where they can.

Hardly imaginable for us: In Bolivia's prisons, many children also live in conditions that are unworthy of life - the Street Doctors' outpatient clinics also take care of their health.

ARTEMED_LAPAZ_5

Our team for the street children

underlined_white

The Bolivian medical team consists of three doctors, two dentists and three drivers, all of whom are trained paramedics and also provide medical assistance. Some of our team members have a similar background as the young patients. They come from poor backgrounds or have lived on the streets themselves. This gives the street children a sense of understanding and they can have the necessary trust in the team.

Ana Maria Iriondo is responsible for the organisation and coordination of the Street Doctors. The medical director of the travelling paediatric practices is Dr Marcelo Mauricio Alarcon Aruquipa. Our managing director of the Bolivian foundation on site is Adriana Rivas Volgger.

But it is not only the local team that takes care of the health of the street children. Again and again, M.A.T.E.'s travel to La Paz and help to improve the local medicine with their knowledge.

What we do

Underline_grey
ARTEMED_LAPAZ_6

Street children

  • Medical care for approx. 300 children daily
  • Dental care
  • Drug administration
  • Spiritual care for the street children
  • Arrangement of care and home places
  • Further treatment at Hospital Arco Iris in severe cases
ARTEMED_LAPAZ_7

Schoolchildren

  • Care for neglected children in problem districts
  • Health Check Ups
  • Treatment for diseases
  • In case of need: Arrangement of care and home places
ARTEMED_LAPAZ_8

Prison children

  • Medical care for children living with their parents in prison
  • Health Check Ups
  • Spiritual care

The story

underlined_white
When the Artemed Stiftung was looking for a new project in South America, the Contact to Josef Neuenhofer. The German priest emigrated to La Paz in 1993 and soon came across the fate of abandoned street children there. Severely shaken by the failure of the state and society, he began to build up an aid organisation from nothing, the Funcadion Arco Iris. In addition to orphanages and social centres, he also founded a hospital, the Hospital Arco Iris, where the street children and the poor population of La Paz receive help in case of illness. In order to provide unbureaucratic and close help to the children living on the streets of La Paz, the travelling paediatric practices were created.

In 2020, Artemed Stiftung took over the work of the travelling paediatric practices under the name "Street Doctors". We have set up our own independent foundation in Bolivia for this purpose, which enables us to manage our help for the street children there in a transparent way. The existing staff of the travelling children's clinics have employment contracts with the Bolivian branch of Artemed Stiftung, we also take care of the disbursement of all funds directly and have full responsibility for our outpatient clinics. We continue to work closely with the Fundacion Arco Iris and the Hospital Arco Iris, which continues to provide us with all medicines free of charge.

José's story

Underline_grey

Every day, 12-year-old José sits on the streets of La Paz and shines shoes - masked. Because shining shoes is considered one of the lowest jobs in Bolivia and he doesn't want to be recognised under any circumstances. José was born in a corrugated iron hut in one of the narrow side streets in La Paz. His mother was only 14 years old when he was born and his father was a violent alcoholic. José bears scars on his body from the many assaults. He ran away from his parents when he was 9 years old because he couldn't stand it any more. He feels unwanted - neglected - unloved. José tries to earn a living by shining shoes and to escape from the misery into which he was born. But what he earns is not enough. He suffers from hunger and is traumatised. He numbs himself with drugs.

With the harsh winters in the Bolivian city of La Paz, severe colds and fevers are added to the freezing cold. José has often sought help from the Street Doctors and always received it. The team cares for the street children quickly and lovingly, and in cases of hardship like José's, they try to place the girls and boys in children's and young people's homes. We can hardly imagine the poverty and misery of the children. One thing is certain: we have to help the children so that they have a chance for a healthy and, if possible, happy future.

News from Bolivia

underlined_white
Do you have questions about your donation?Contact us directly at Nancy Schinkel.

She will be happy to help you with any questions you may have about your donation to the Artemed Stiftung

kontakt@artemed-stiftung.de
+49 (0) 815 89077067

100% of your donation goes to our projects.
The administrative costs of Artemed Stiftung are covered by the parent company, Artemed SE.

Newsletter-Application

Always stay up to date: Register now for our free Newsletter.

Street Doctors

Tausende Kinder leben in La Paz auf der Straße.

Street Doctors

Bolivien ist eines der ärmsten Länder Südamerikas.

Street Doctors

300 Kinder werden täglich von den Street Doctors behandelt.

Street Doctors

30 Euro ermöglichen die Gesundheitsversorgung eines Kindes für ein Jahr.

Über das Projekt

Unterstrich_grau

Tausende Kinder kämpfen auf den Straßen von Boliviens Hauptstadt La Paz täglich ums Überleben. Hunger und Missbrauch sind sie oft schutzlos ausgeliefert – wenn Krankheiten dazukommen, haben sie ohne Bezugsperson und ärztliche Versorgung keine Chance.

In drei fahrenden Kinderpraxen kümmern sich die Street Doctors in drei Teams, bestehend aus Ärzten und Ärztinnen, Zahnärzten und Sanitäter:innen, kostenlos um das physische und psychische Wohl der hilflosen Kinder. Sie sind für sie da, hören zu, nehmen in den Arm und helfen, wo es geht.

Für uns kaum vorstellbar: In den Haftanstalten Boliviens leben ebenfalls viele Kinder unter lebensunwürdigen Bedingungen – auch um ihre Gesundheit kümmern sich die Ambulanzen der Street Doctors.

ARTEMED_LAPAZ_5

Unser Team für die Straßenkinder

unterstrich_weiss

Das bolivianische Medizin-Team besteht aus drei Ärzt:innen, zwei Zahnärzt:innen und drei Fahrern, die alle eine Ausbildung zum Sanitäter haben und ebenfalls medizinische Hilfe leisten. Einige unserer Teammitglieder haben einen ähnlichen Hintergrund wie die jungen Patienten. Sie kommen aus armen Verhältnissen oder haben selbst auf der Straße gelebt. Das gibt den Straßenkindern ein Gefühl des Verständnisses und sie können dem Team das notwendige Vertrauen entgegenbringen.

Die Organisation und Koordination der Street Doctors übernimmt Ana Maria Iriondo. Der medizinische Leiter der fahrenden Kinderarztpraxen ist Dr. Marcelo Mauricio Alarcon Aruquipa. Unsere Geschäftsführerin der bolivianischen Stiftung vor Ort ist Adriana Rivas Volgger.

Doch nicht nur das Team vor Ort kümmert sich um die Gesundheit der Straßenkinder. Immer wieder reisen M.A.T.E.s nach La Paz und helfen mit ihrem Wissen die Medizin vor Ort zu verbessern.

Was wir tun

Unterstrich_grau
ARTEMED_LAPAZ_6

Straßenkinder

  • Medizinische Versorgung für ca. 300 Kinder täglich
  • Zahnärztliche Versorgung
  • Medikamentenvergabe
  • Seelische Betreuung der Straßenkinder
  • Vermittlung von Pflege- und Heimplätzen
  • Weiterbehandlung im Hospital Arco Iris bei schweren Fällen
ARTEMED_LAPAZ_7

Schulkinder

  • Betreuung vernachlässigter Kinder in Problembezirken
  • Gesundheits-Check Ups
  • Behandlung bei Erkrankungen
  • Im Bedarfsfall: Vermittlung von Pflege- und Heimplätzen
ARTEMED_LAPAZ_8

Gefängniskinder

  • Medizinische Betreuung der Kinder, die mit ihren Eltern im Gefängnis leben
  • Gesundheits-Check Ups
  • Seelische Betreuung

Die Geschichte

unterstrich_weiss
Als die Artemed Stiftung auf der Suche nach einem neuen Projekt in Südamerika war, wurde der Kontakt zu Josef Neuenhofer hergestellt. Der deutsche Pfarrer wanderte 1993 nach La Paz aus und stieß dort schon bald auf das Schicksal der verlassenen Straßenkinder. Schwer erschüttert vom Versagen des Staates und der Gesellschaft, begann er aus dem Nichts ein Hilfswerk aufzubauen, die Funcadion Arco Iris. Neben Waisenhäusern und Sozialstationen gründete er auch ein Krankenhaus, das Hospital Arco Iris, in dem die Straßenkinder und die arme Bevölkerung von La Paz im Krankheitsfall Hilfe bekommen. Um den Kindern, die auf den Straßen von La Paz leben, eine unbürokratische und nahe Hilfe zukommen zu lassen, wurden die fahrenden Kinderarztpraxen ins Leben gerufen.

Im Jahr 2020 hat die Artemed Stiftung die Arbeit der fahrenden Kinderarztpraxen unter dem Namen „Street Doctors“ übernommen. Wir haben dafür eine eigene, unabhängige Stiftung in Bolivien gegründet, die es uns ermöglicht, unsere dortige Hilfe für die Straßenkinder transparent zu steuern. Die bisherigen Mitarbeiter:innen der fahrenden Kinderkliniken haben Arbeitsverträge mit der bolivianischen Zweigstelle der Artemed Stiftung, ebenso kümmern wir uns direkt um die Auszahlung aller Gelder und haben die volle Verantwortung für unsere Ambulanzen. Wir arbeiten weiterhin eng mit der Fundacion Arco Iris und dem Hospital Arco Iris zusammen, das uns weiterhin kostenlos alle Medikamente zur Verfügung stellt.

Josés Geschichte

Unterstrich_grau

Auf den Straßen von La Paz sitzt der 12-jährige José täglich und putzt Schuhe – vermummt. Denn das Schuhe putzen gilt in Bolivien als eine der niedrigsten Arbeiten und er möchte auf keinen Fall wiedererkannt werden. Geboren wurde José in einer Wellblechhütte, in einer der schmalen Seitengassen in La Paz. Seine Mutter war bei seiner Geburt erst 14 Jahre alt und sein Vater war ein gewalttätiger Alkoholiker. José trägt Narben auf seinem Körper von den vielen Übergriffen. Von seinen Eltern ist er mit 9 Jahren weggelaufen, weil er es nicht mehr aushielt. Er fühlt sich ungewollt – vernachlässigt – ungeliebt. José versucht sich durch das Putzen von Schuhen seinen Lebensunterhalt zu verdienen und aus dem Elend, in das er geboren wurde, zu entfliehen. Doch was er verdient reicht nicht. Er leidet an Hunger und ist traumatisiert. Mit Drogen betäubt er sich.

Mit den harten Wintern im bolivianischen La Paz kommen, neben der klirrenden Kälte, schwere Erkältungen und Fieber hinzu. Schon häufig hat José Hilfe bei den Street Doctors gesucht und immer erhalten. Schnell und liebevoll kümmert sich das Team um die Straßenkinder und bei Härtefällen wie José, versuchen sie die Mädchen und Jungen an Kinder- und Jungendheime zu vermitteln. Die Armut und das Elend der Kinder ist für uns kaum vorstellbar. Eins ist gewiss: Wir müssen den Kindern helfen, damit sie eine Chance auf eine gesunde und möglichst auch glückliche Zukunft haben.

News aus Bolivien

unterstrich_weiss
Haben Sie Fragen zu Ihrer Spende?Wenden Sie sich direkt an Nancy Schinkel.

Sie hilft Ihnen gerne bei allen Fragen rund um Ihre Spende an die Artemed Stiftung

kontakt@artemed-stiftung.de
+49 (0) 815 89077067

Newsletter-Anmeldung

Bleiben Sie immer auf dem Laufenden: Registrieren Sie sich jetzt für unseren kostenlosen Newsletter.