About the project

Underline_grey

In addition to the treatment of acute illnesses, it is always important to us to strengthen prevention and to tackle health problems at the root. For this reason, we have set up a community healthcare project in the vicinity of St. Walburg's Hospital in Tanzania. A staff member has been employed at the hospital for this purpose. She is exclusively concerned with strengthening the health of the families in Nyangao.

At the beginning of 2021, a project was launched that specifically addresses the issue of child malnutrition in the region. The primary goal is to work with local doctors and in cooperation with the communities to develop and implement a comprehensive concept to combat child malnutrition.

Project development and training for the population

underlined_white

From the paediatric clinic attached to the hospital we know that there are always cases of severely malnourished and developmentally delayed children. In the first phase of the project, the goal is to develop a good data basis. These data represent important information about the nutritional situation in the region and, moreover, they provide initial indications as to what the exact reasons for malnutrition among the children might be.

In addition, the hygienic and family situation of the affected families is assessed and it is recorded how long the mothers breastfeed their children and to what extent older children are given nutritious food.

In addition to recording the data, however, initial measures are already being taken to improve the nutritional situation. Here, the focus is on the educational work of St. Walburg`s Hospital to make the population understand which foods help to ensure a balanced diet.

In addition, contacts were made with various decision-makers in the municipalities in order to give this issue more urgency.

healthcare_artemed
healthcare_artemed-2
healthcare_artemed

First successes of the healthcare project

Underline_grey

Fortunately, some children have already received concrete help. They have been able to make up for their deficits by receiving special food in the hospital, and at the same time their parents are being trained in the basics of healthy nutrition. Munifu, for example, was born with 3,000 g but did not gain weight in her first months of life. At five months, she came to St. Walburg's Hospital, where she quickly gained weight.

News from Tanzania

underlined_white
Do you have questions about your donation?Contact us directly at Nancy Schinkel.

She will be happy to help you with any questions you may have about your donation to the Artemed Stiftung

kontakt@artemed-stiftung.de
+49 (0) 815 89077067

100% of your donation goes to our projects.
The administrative costs of Artemed Stiftung are covered by the parent company, Artemed SE.

Newsletter-Application

Always stay up to date: Register now for our free Newsletter.

Über das Projekt

unterstrich_weiss

Neben der Behandlung akuter Krankheiten ist es uns immer auch ein Anliegen, die Prävention zu stärken und gesundheitliche Probleme an der Wurzel zu packen. Aus diesem Grund haben wir im Umkreis des St. Walburg`s Hospitals in Tansania ein Community Healthcare Projekt ins Leben gerufen. Im Krankenhaus wurde dafür eigens eine Mitarbeiterin angestellt. Sie kümmert sich ausschließlich um die Stärkung der Gesundheit der Familien in Nyangao.

Zu Beginn 2021 wurde ein Projekt gestartet, das sich speziell mit dem Thema Unterernährung von Kindern in der Region befasst. Dabei ist das primäre Ziel mit Ärzten vor Ort und in Kooperation mit den Gemeinden, ein umfassendes Konzept zu erarbeiten und umzusetzen, das die Unterernährung von Kindern bekämpft.

Projektaufbau und Schulungen für die Bevölkerung

unterstrich_weiss

Aus der dem Krankenhaus angeschlossenen Kinderklinik wissen wir, dass es immer wieder Fälle von stark unterernährten und entwicklungsverzögerten Kindern gibt. In der ersten Projektphase ist es das Ziel, eine gute Datengrundlage zu erarbeiten.  Diese Daten stellen wichtige Informationen über die Ernährungssituation in der Region dar und darüber hinaus liefern sie erste Hinweise, was die genauen Gründe für eine Unterernährung bei den Kindern sein könnte.

Zusätzlich werden die hygienische und familiäre Situation der betroffenen Familien begutachtet und es wird festgehalten wie lange die Mütter ihre Kinder stillen und in welchem Umfang ältere Kinder nährstoffreiche Nahrung zu essen bekommen.

Neben der Aufnahme der Daten werden aber auch bereits erste Maßnahmen zur Verbesserung der Ernährungssituation vorgenommen. Hier liegt der Schwerpunkt auf der Bildungsarbeit des St. Walburg`s Hospitals, um der Bevölkerung verständlich zu machen, welche Nahrungsmittel helfen, eine ausgewogene Ernährung zu gewährleisten.

Darüber hinaus wurden Kontakte mit verschiedenen Entscheidungsträger:innen der Gemeinden geknüpft, um auch hier diesem Thema mehr Dringlichkeit zu geben.

healthcare_artemed
healthcare_artemed-2
healthcare_artemed

Erste Erfolge des Healthcare Projekts

unterstrich_weiss

Erfreulicherweise konnte auch schon einigen Kindern ganz konkret geholfen werden. Diese konnten durch Spezialnahrung im Krankenhaus ihre Defizite aufholen und zeitgleich werden die Eltern in den Grundlagen der gesunden Ernährung geschult. So zum Beispiel Munifu, die mit 3.000 g zur Welt kam, aber in ihren ersten Lebensmonaten nicht zugenommen hat. Mit fünf Monaten kam sie in das St. Walburg’s Hospital, wo sie schnell zunahm.

News aus Tansania

unterstrich_weiss
Haben Sie Fragen zu Ihrer Spende?Wenden Sie sich direkt an Nancy Schinkel.

Sie hilft Ihnen gerne bei allen Fragen rund um Ihre Spende an die Artemed Stiftung

kontakt@artemed-stiftung.de
+49 (0) 815 89077067

100% Ihrer Spende kommen in unseren Projekten an.
Die Verwaltungskosten der Artemed Stiftung übernimmt der Mutterkonzern, die Artemed SE.

Newsletter-Anmeldung

Bleiben Sie immer auf dem Laufenden: Registrieren Sie sich jetzt für unseren kostenlosen Newsletter.